Club Focus: Castletown-Geoghegan – a proud club with a great hurling tradition

TOP: The Castletown-Geoghegan side that won the Senior Hurling Championship in 1956, the first of a famous three-in-a-row: Back row (L-R): Rev. M. S. Fox, Joe Clarke, Sgt. Tom Muldoon, Dinny Kelly,Tommy Bolger, Larry Daly, Christy Dalton, Peter Dalton, Declan O’Sullivan, Jimmy Dalton, Noel Corcoran, Paddy Daly, Bill Kelly. Front row (L-R): Mick Clarke, Pat Jackson, Roger O’Brien, Sean Stokes, Mick Kirby, Mick Bolger, Jack Treacy, Mick Dalton, Sean Cowley, Paddy Bolger, Pat Treacy, Liam Dowling and Jack McCormack. BOTTOM: The Castletown-Geoghegan team that won the U14 Division 1 Hurling Final in 2019. Back row (L-R): Evan Dalton, Adam Cassidy, Michael Fagan, Thomas Conlon, Adam Clarke, Darragh Nally, Shane Corcoran, Peter Murphy, Sean Jackson, Philip Reynolds, Andrew Dalton, Charlie Carey and Sean Clarke. Front row (L-R): Dylan Birch, Jack Nally, Morgan Redmond, Sean Macken, Dylan Drake, Dylan Corrigan, Jack Mulligan, Killian Jackson, Jack Maloney, Ronan McLavin and Enna Maxwell.

For the past 109 years, Castletown-Geoghegan has had a proud association with the GAA and the game of hurling has flourished in that part of Westmeath, where many great memories have been made and numerous successes enjoyed.

Since 1911 it has been growing and developing and the acquisition of a playing field in 1966 was a seminal moment, coming two years after the club won its sixth senior title and since then the famous black and amber colours have donned the Westmeath Examiner Cup on a further seven occasions.

It’s a remarkable achievement for the small parish and for a club whose very existence came under threat during the 1980s when emigration wreaked havoc across rural Westmeath.

The year 1923 was a proud one for Castletown-Geoghegan, who were considered outsiders when they took on a strong Castlepollard club in the senior final, but showing the kind of hurling ability for which they have become renowned, Castletown-Geoghegan won the day on a remarkable 7-0 to 1-0 scoreline.

A first senior title was safely in the locker and since then there has been no stopping Castletown-Geoghegan.

Of the many great people involved in formative years, the name of Kilkenny native Mick Byrne is most notable.

It was his vision that played a crucial role in the club entering the Junior Championship and they won the title in 1921 in the colours of Kilkenny, which they have worn with pride ever since.